Posted in Uncategorized

Interview with Natalie Wright!!!! :)

Hi guys, so I know that I’ve been busy with posts about authors,books, cover and other things. But I’ve been absolutely delighted to have interviewed with renowned Natalie Wright, the author of the Akasha Chronicles. Anyways, this was so amazing to read her answers, so I hope you guys enjoy the answers as much as I did.

Questions

1. Where do you get your inspiration to write your books?

My first book, Emily’s House, was inspired by a vision I had while doing hypnosis! I had a vision of a golden torc hovering over an Irish landscape. From there, my imagination took off to create the Celtic inspired fantasy/science fiction story that became Emily’s House.

My current work in progress, H.A.L.F., is a young adult science fiction series. It was inspired by a song called Cowboys and Aliens by the band Gram Rabbit. I was driving around my hometown of Tucson, Arizona and this song about mother ships and aliens came on and by the time I got home I had a rough outline of the plot for the first book.

So inspirations come from all kinds of places 😉

2. When did you start writing YA books?

I began writing in 2008. When I first began writing Emily’s House, I started out writing it for adults. But it wasn’t working. Then I tried it with the main character younger – fourteen – and it worked. I find that when I write, a teen “voice” comes out. So for now anyway, I’m writing books for middle grade through high school audiences.

3. Do you have any favorite books or authors that you adore?

Wow, so many. Though I read Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern a couple of years ago, I still think about that book and loved the imagery and world creation. I’m still reading George R.R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series and I love, love, love his writing. Of course J.K. Rowling is my hero and I adore Suzanne Collins for creating The Hunger Games (my favorite YA series). There are many more, but these are the ones I came up with off of the top of my head.

4. Where do you get your ideas for writing your books?
5. What are your hobbies that occupies your time when your not writing?

Writing, social media, raising my daughter and taking care of our small menagerie (a geriatric dog, two young cats and six fish) take most of my time. When I get the chance, I love to travel and see new places and meet new people. I also spend quite a few weekends selling books at book festival and comic cons so while that’s work related, I enjoy it so much it doesn’t feel like work.

I recently started learning how to make props and costumes for cosplay as my daughter and I are both into steampunk. It began simply as these things often do. She wanted to steampunkify her Nerf gun to be used as a prop for her Halloween costume. It was so much fun that we’re now creating our own steampunk goggles and top hats. Now I’ve been bitten by the cosplay bug and I find myself looking at random objects and considering ways I can make it look steampunk 😉

6. Where do you get your drive to write?

Mainly because the story just won’t leave me alone until I write it down! It’s probably difficult to live with me or be in a relationship with me when I’m in the mega story creation mode because I become completely obsessed with the story and think about it constantly. So it’s like I have no choice but to write so that I can act have a semi-normal life again (at least until the next story idea comes along 😉

7. What’s your favorite part of writing?

I love the entire process, but the first draft writing is probably the most fun. I do a lot of preparation before I write and create a short outline. But when I’m writing the first draft, I allow the story to flow where it will. There are detours and often revelations of character traits or plot points that I had not seen before. It is the process of pure creation and I love seeing where my imagination can go.

8. Do you have any Pre Writing practices that you do to help your writing?

Before each writing session, I meditate for a while to quiet my mind and free myself from mental distractions. Many days, I’ll do a timed writing exercise from a writing prompt or write some poetry to get my creativity flowing. I also turn off all phone ringers and listen to soft instrumental music to create a quiet atmosphere free of distractions. I have the attention span of a flea and am easily distracted by shiny objects, so it’s important for me to do my best to write in a distraction free environment.

9. Do you think you will venture out one day to writing different genres?

Since H.A.L.F. will be a five-book series and I’m only just now writing the first, I’m committed to writing young adult science fiction for a while! But I have ideas that may work for adult fantasy fiction and I’ve begun writing poetry again. So maybe in the future I’ll test the waters in some different areas.

10. Who is your favorite 19th century writer who has inspired your writing?

I love this question. No one ever asks about 19th century writers!
My favorite 19th century writer is Charles Dickens. I love A Christmas Carol and A Tale of Two Cities. Both deal with themes present throughout Dickens’ work – social justice, equality, love and the human condition.

I also love that Dickens wrote for the masses, not the elite upper class. He popularized the serial novel and was able to reach a mass audience. So I’m also inspired by his entrepreneurial spirit and of bringing his message to the people.

I hope you guys enjoyed this post and lovely interview with Natalie wright and lookout for the guest post Natalie Wright wrote. So toddles and if you keep your eyes peeled you might notice I’ve posted twice already today and I’m going for a third. So bye, and thank you guys for all the support you give me by reading these posts.

Love you guys,
XOXOOXOXOXOOXOXOOXXLOXOXOXLXOXLXOOXLOXL
Setierah
P.S. I know I added an L in my exit but it means love so gets with the program, lol.

Author:

I'm setierah and I LOVEEEE blogging about books, its my life.

2 thoughts on “Interview with Natalie Wright!!!! :)

Leave a Reply

