Posted in Deep Thinking I do, Doing a Duty

Banned Books is Wrong!

Morning to you guys,

I hope you guys are up for my HUGE serving of opinion and fact, because I just can’t hold my tongue on this anymore. Banned books to me are really stupid. I mean to me, books deliver a way to just get away from all of the shit in our life and to live for an hour, 2 hours or a day without disruption. For most people this is what reading is about for them (adding  small pieces of enjoyment) no matter the content, and I understand there is always going to be those people who disagree with the kind of content but is it necessary for them to voice their irrational opinions. I mean I totally understand that some books have  inappropriate parts but they are just books, chill. But instead of ranting I’ll give you a compelling case.

My question to you is: when did life become more about hiding controversial issues from the upcoming generations? When did life become so controlled? When did the government forget about our freedom to speak aloud? Can you come up with an answer, because I sure can’t. Don’t you remember when you were shown the constitution and promised that you could say just about anything without getting yelled at. If you don’t here’s a quote from it:

“Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.”

There are exceptions to this law as there are to any law but It’s mostly clear that we have the right to say,write anything that doesn’t incite fight. But when has a book caused someone to harm another? Not that I know of, at least classics or YA Fiction books.

But not only do we have the right to OUR freedom of speech, but also we have the right to write anything our ambitious hearts desire. Even the president of ALA, Carol Brey-Casiano, believes we have the chance to read what we want to read. Here’s a quote from him: “”Not every book is right for every person, but providing a wide range of reading choices is vital for learning, exploration, and imagination. The abilities to read, speak, think, and express ourselves freely are core American values.” Read more: Banned Books http://www.infoplease.com/spot/banned-kids-books.html#ixzz3QGJpYEKi

The ALA president is definitely hitting the nail correctly, because books can help establish learning and maybe even encourage changes in behavior. In experiments conducted by researchers from Ohio University, they found that people who took on the life of a main character changed for the better or the worse depending upon the situation. Basically, 82 registered to vote graduates had read a story (in four different variations) about a student who overcame obstacles before getting to the booth to vote; the stories also had small resemblances to the graduates lives. After, they were given a  questionnaire to evaluate how that story influenced there actions for voting. 65% of the graduates voted that they voted on election day versus the people that didn’t read the first person story. “When you share a group membership with a character from a story told in first-person voice, you’re much more likely to feel like you’re experiencing his or her life events,” Libby said. “And when you undergo this experience-taking, it can affect your behavior for days afterwards.”

So I’m telling you this because banning books takes away the learning experience that could possibly help change behavior for the better. If books keep getting banned, what will the following generations have to learn from. We may have tons of people to imitate but I definitely think that having books to help us learn is a better way and by taking away these books because of a few curse words, or  a racial scene can affect society in a detrimental way. Even taking away books because they interfered with religious beliefs is a definite no-no. Actually it’s a BIG no-no because that may not go against the constitution, but it goes against the words of Thomas Jefferson that were also used in the supreme court’s ruling in the case Everson vs. Board of Education.

So to my conclusion, without influential books we will be a world of how Ray Bradbury described as “Members of a futuristic society are also as obsessed with their large, flat-screen televisions”. And honestly, that scares the crap out of me, because without books I would be a nervous wreck and then some, like I could never imagine living in a world where books were burned, no matter the book. But no matter what I say, no matter what I do, no matter how much I scream, our society will continue a pattern that is nor healthy nor right but is wrong. The pattern of banning books will continue because monkey do monkey see and soon there will be no more books to ban. So this is how I feel about banning books and I hope you would feel the same.

Cite:

http://researchnews.osu.edu/archive/exptaking.htm

http://www.washingtonpost.com/business/technology/dreams-of-ray-bradbury-ten-predictions-that-came-true/2012/06/06/gJQAqbs9IV_story.html

http://www.thebookescape.com/BannedWithReasons.html

Hope you enjoyed,

XOXOXLXOXLXOXLXOXLXO

Setierah

Author:

I'm setierah and I LOVEEEE blogging about books, its my life.

2 thoughts on “Banned Books is Wrong!

  1. I just stumbled upon your blog through Bloggers Commenting Back, and all I could think after reading this post was YES. It makes me sad that book banners seem to actually think they’re helping people by cutting off their access to books – they’re trying to protect people from scary things. They often don’t seem to realize they are going about it in the wrong way, that children need to explore uncomfortable topics through the safety of books. I want to study the psychology of a book banner and find out what is leading them to think that restricting free speech is in any way acceptable or is in any way helping children.

    1. I totally agree, I think that a restrained environment creates a restrained life and books shouldn’t be restrained due to one word or offensive phrase. People should be able to read and learn from that persons actions right or wrong. Also thanks for taking the time to read my long ramble filled blog post, it means a lot to find people that agree.

Leave a Reply

