Posted in Something New, Starting up

Most Enjoyable read (ReinReads)

Hey guys, its me Setierah and I’m here with a new post, but its a little different today, I did a collaboration with Alysyn from ReinReads and it was absolutely amazing. She talks about her most enjoyable book and yeah, so check it out! Also, my post is on her site so I’ll link it below for you guys to check it out. But enough of that, here’s her post!

My name is Alysyn from ReinReads, & I’d like to say a big thank you to Setierah from Slayer Of Ya for doing this collaboration with me! I’m supposed to pick the most enjoyable book I’ve ever read, which is so hard! But enjoyable, doesn’t necessarily mean best, it just means the book I really was the most happy reading. I’m restricting myself to stand-alone books & books that I haven’t reviewed yet on my blog, & my choice is Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.

The cover is gorgeous. The characters are loveable. The story is upbeat, but moving. & most importantly, for this topic, the ending was enjoyable. It’s one of those books I read all in one sitting & from start to finish, I felt engaged & happy.

I knew I’d love it once the characters started talking about how much they love William Carlos Williams. It’s a very simple, yet moving story. A coming of age tale that covered issues with the Vietnam war, race, identity, sexuality, etc. However, it never once feels as though the reader is being lectured, which is a problem for a lot of YA books that try to tackle too many topics.

Initially I thought Ari was a bit whiney, but his voice grew on me & instead I came to see him as hardened, like he describes himself. Dante was my favorite character. If I could just have a son like him one day, that’d be great.

In the beginning they sounded a bit too young to be fifteen, but this was a different time period & they’re supposed to be a bit weird. They also grow up quite a bit as the book goes on.

I like how important the role of their parents were. Often parents are absent in YA books, but these were an integral part of the story. I loved how they were described as “intimate strangers,” like that feeling you get when you see your father cry for the first time.

My only complaint was that my edition had some typos in it, the hardcover reprint form 2014 with all the awards on the front. I also didn’t really enjoy the dream bits, they were too closely related with what was happening in the story. Saenz has talked about this a bit, he describes the reality seeping into the dreamworld like “air seeping out of a tire,” but it just wasn’t doing it for me.

It’s my most enjoyable read because the characters themselves are so enjoyable. Dante is so positive & his relationship with Ari makes them better people. I definitely recommend it!

So I hope you guys enjoyed this post as much as she enjoyed that book and have a great day guys!!

XOXOXOXOXO
Setierah

Author:

I'm setierah and I LOVEEEE blogging about books, its my life.

2 thoughts on “Most Enjoyable read (ReinReads)

    1. Thanks so much, this really was super fun and I enjoyed this so much. Especially for my first time doing a collaboration, and thanks so much I’m awaiting decisions right now. 🙂 Have a lovely day.

Leave a Reply

