Posted in Blogging, Info about Me, Uncategorized, Vlogging, What My life is about

I have a confession

So I know you guys aren’t priests but you guys are like my judge and jury so I wanted to confide in you. As you guys know, or don’t know, I take AICE Literature and these type of classes are super competitive and for some countries means an entry into college but I live in the U.S. So we really don’t take it that serious, as we should, but it’s life. But today I want to really just tell you something that makes me feel so bad. Seriously.

The books that are required for reading are just like ughhhhh, and I hate them like I just can’t, and I know you guys right now are like shrieking in despair yelling “Setierah IS A FRAUD!!!” lol but I’m not, I swear. I love reading, don’t get me wrong but I don’t like books that feel pretentious and overdone, you know what I mean. Like this book House Of Mirth is a great example about a society that is horribly miserable whose main job is to make happy people upset and dead inside, and the people trying to get in jump through hoops just to get criticized. I think this book is a great example of society now just minus the money and you’ll get the same tortured chaos that was presented in the book, but what makes it worse is the way women are described and forced to marry. Maybe this is a personal issue but the whole situation creates a biased reaction from me. I just hate it.

hate

And so in knowing this and trying to read this, I despise this class and the reading in it. I just can’t relate to the main character and I don’t even know why I don’t. Maybe it’s because of the point of view the author chose to write in, or based on the personality of the character, or the way she was “supposed to be” but the character was really distant, like miles away. But also, I don’t know if it’s just me but the story just dragged on like it was like a soap opera but without the interesting plot twists and fabulous personalities of the characters. It was just plain boring and I hated it. It’s like if I wanted to read about this I could just watch someone’s life.

So this is how I feel and I just wanted to tell you so I could get it off my chest, and I know that it was only one book but it has affected my whole time in the class because I don’t want to write about something that I can’t stand you know. And it’s not like every book in that class is horrible but one book affects all other books. Kinda, sorta even though I’m trying to not sound prejudice or judgmental or whatever they call people like me lol (I hope they’re good names lol). So that’s all, so I’ll just walk into the sunset for my total honesty today, and see you on Tuesday I think lol.

XOXOLOXOXLXOXOXOXL

Setierah

Author:

I'm setierah and I LOVEEEE blogging about books, its my life.

7 thoughts on “I have a confession

    1. Ugh lol it’s been 12 long years of despising the books required in school, especially Farenheight 451.. But yeah, aren’t they horrible? or intolerable?

  1. I think we all have books we hate. 🙂 I’m an English major, so lots of classics and lots of required reading, but there were still books I was assigned for class that I just didn’t like. Ethan Frome haunts me to this day. I guess the best we can do is try to get what we can out of the book, and then thank the heavens we’ll probably never have to read it again after the class is over. (Unless another class assigns it….)

    1. Yeah,I mean there are tons of books that I don’t really like but I think they teach lessons and serve important parts in our lives. And yes lol, I’m always happy when it’s time for that class to end and I can just get back to reading what I really want, which is all I can think about.

Leave a Reply

